This calendar, like the overall site, is non-partisan. We will post events that are of community or political interest, regardless of party. Events must be of legitimate interest to people of goodwill.

That said, we reserve the right to not post any event we deem inappropriate or offensive.

Click HERE to submit an event for this calendar.

.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Coalition launch: Communities for Sheriff Accountability (virtual)

July 28 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm CDT

Communities for Sheriff Accountability: C4SA is a coalition of organizers who envision a world free of mass incarceration, where people of all races and backgrounds can live publicly without fear of punishment, and communities demand – and receive – better for their county and families. The launch of the coalition will allow communities across the country to coordinate, share learnings and amplify one another’s campaigns to hold sheriffs accountable. The virtual launch caps three days of actions by local coalition members, serving notice to their local sheriffs that they expect to see an end to the harms perpetrated by these law enforcement agencies.

Those actions are on the shoulders of generations of organizers who have stood up to local sheriffs. Joining the event will be descendants of the family of Harry T. and Hariette Moore, a family that was among the first to stand up to racist sheriffs as part of the dawn of the Civil Rights Movement. The Moores created the Brevard County, Florida Branch of the NAACP and stood up to the county sheriff during the Groveland Rape Case in Florida. Their actions ultimately resulted in their deaths but paved the way for future activism.

The coalition will make seven policy demands of sheriffs across the country, which will make our communities safer and more just. More than 20 organizations, national and local, have signed on for this initial launch, representing every region of our country. The coalition kick-off event will be July 28 at 4:00 – 5:30 p.m. ET (3:00 – 4:30 p.m. CT | 2:00 – 3:30 p.m. MT | 1:00 – 2:30 p.m. PT).

Register: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIuc-mtqTMoHdERIt1epPKntgF2a-AO4BSZ

Details

Date:
July 28
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm CDT
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIuc-mtqTMoHdERIt1epPKntgF2a-AO4BSZ

Organizer

Communities for Sheriff Accountability
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/C4SACoalition