Job descriptionOversees the General Land Office, a Texas state agency. Term is four years.
DutiesManages state public lands (including mineral rights, properties, and other assets), with the goals of preserving state history, protecting natural resources, and maximizing state revenue.
Manages money resulting from the administration and sale of lands. Most revenue goes to the Texas Permanent School Fund, which funds charter schools, pays for public school textbooks, and guarantees bonds issued by local school districts.
Provides funds to state veterans’ programs, such as the Veterans Land Board.
Advises the Governor on land issues.
Annual salary$140,938

Who’s Running?

Michael Lange
Website: https://langeforland.com
Email: michael@langeforland.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/langeforland
Twitter: https://twitter.com/langeforland
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/langeforland
Democratic Primary
Jinny Suh
Website: https://www.jinnysuhfortexas.com
Email: jinny@jinnysuhfortexas.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JinnySuhForTexas
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JinnySuhForTX
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jinnysuhfortexas/
Democratic Primary
Jay Kleberg
Website: https://www.jay4tx.com
Email: jay@jay4tx.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Jay4txland/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jay4txland
Democratic Primary
Sandra Grace Martinez
Website: https://sandragrace4texans.com
Email: sangragrace@sandragrace4texans.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sandragrace4texans/
Democratic Primary
Don W. Minton
Website: https://minton4glo.com
Email: don@donminton4glo.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/don.minton.7
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Minton4GLO
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/judgeminton/
Republican Primary
Tim Westley
Website: https://www.texans4tim.com
Email: drwestley@texans4tim.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/drwestley
Twitter: https://twitter.com/drtimwestley
Republican Primary
Ben Armenta
Website: http://benarmenta.com
Email: ben@benarmenta.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BenArmentaTexas
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BenArmentaTexas
Republican Primary
Weston Martinez
Website: https://westonfortexas.com
Email: weston@westonfortexas.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WestonMartinez/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/westonmartinez
Republican Primary
Victor Avila
Website: http://victoravilatx.com
Email: info@victoravilatx.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/VictorAvilaJr
Twitter: https://twitter.com/VictorAvilaTX
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/victoravilajr
Republican Primary
Dawn Buckingham
Website: https://dawnbuckingham.com
Email: https://dawnbuckingham.com (scroll down for contact form)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DrBuckinghamTX/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DrBuckinghamTX
Republican Primary
Jon Spiers
Website: https://www.drjonspiers.com
Email: land@drjonspiers.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DrJonSpiers
Twitter: https://twitter.com/drjonspiers
Republican Primary
Rufus Lopez
Address: PO Box 781612, San Antonio TX 78278
Note: no other information available; contact Texas Republican Party, https://texasgop.org
Republican Primary